Every Day – David Levithan

Ever asked yourself what it is like to be somebody? To be someone aside from yourself? I always do. That might be the reason why I fell in love with this book so much that it leaves you wondering what the heck would it be if you wake up everyday not knowing who you are and just jiving around to different bodies for the sake of living — if it’s still called living.

Every Day is about the story of A, a genderless person who wakes up in a different body, figuring out who he/she was every day. All A knows is that he/she must never get attached, never be noticed and never interfere. This rule change when A wakes up as Justin and meet his girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply because finally, A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

But will it work? I mean, when reality strikes someone like A, does love like this lasts? That’s why I understand why he does the next best thing. Wanna know what? Read the book and lend me its second book, Another Day! Hahaha. Kidding aside with lending but I’m serious with you reading it. Its worth it.

So come to my favorite part. For me, the story gets exciting when A conquers the unknowns just to be with Rhiannon. The funny thing is, if you’re gonna think of it, I don’t even know if there is someone who will believe A (just in case there will be) and ask to meet this mysterious being cause he was your boyfriend the other day. Like, “Really? you serious?”. But with all those nonsense thoughts of mine, I really adore those painful yet romantic lines of this book. Here are some:

“This is what love does: It makes you want to rewrite the world. It makes you want to choose the characters, build the scenery, guide the plot. The person you love sits across from you, and you want to do everything in your power to make it possible, endlessly possible. And when it’s just the two of you, alone in a room, you can pretend that this is how it is, this is how it will be.”

“I want love to conquer all. But love can’t conquer anything. It can’t do anything on it’s own. It relies on us to do the conquering on its behalf.”

“I am a drifter, and as lonely as that can be, it is also remarkably freeing. I will never define myself in terms of anyone else. I will never feel the pressure of peers or the burden of parental expectation. I can view everyone as pieces of a whole, and focus on the whole, not the pieces. I have learned to observe, far better than most people observe. I am not blinded by the past or motivated by the future. I focus on the present because that is where I am destined to live.”

“You like him because he’s a lost boy. Believe me, I’ve seen it happen before. But do you know what happens to girls who love lost boys? They become lost themselves. Without fail.”

Who wouldn’t love David for these words? Written beautifully in all sort.

Leave a Reply

