Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

It’s been almost a month since Me Before You came out and I thought I can wait until I finished reading the book before actually seeing it as a movie but thanks to my dorm mates who watched beside me. -__-

Although I already knew that someone will die in the end (tragically speaking), watching this made us feel as if we were Lou who lost Will.

Emilia Clarke step into the flowery shoes of Lou Clark, a small town girl who finds a job as the caretaker of Will Traynor, played by Sam Claflin. Will, your typical British playboy of a banker with a castle as his childhood home, was in an accident that left him paralyzed from the shoulders down — and made him lose the will to live.

(Source)

I don’t think that there is someone who can do it better than Emilia Clarke playing Lou Clark. I appreciated her beauty more because of this movie. Her smile will make you smile, her laugh will make you laugh and her tears will make you cry, endlessly. On the other hand, Sam Claflin, is the tall, white, handsome guy who can still manage to look so hot in a wheelchair! From Finnick of Hunger Games to Alex of Love Rosie, Sam’s movie characters always bring us tears to shed.

My favorite scene is when Will asked Lou to be with him during his last day (though its too stupid to ask someone to see you die).

Will Traynor:

Shhh. Just listen. You, of all people. Listen to what Im saying. This…tonight…is the most wonderful thing you could have done for me. What you have told me, what you have done in bringing me here…knowing that, somehow, from that complete arse, I was at the start of this, you managed to salvage something to love is astonishing to me. But…I need it to end here. No more chair. No more pneumonia. No more burning limbs. No more pain and tiredness and waking up every morning already wishing it was over. When we get back, I am still going to go to Switzerland. And if you do love me, Clark, as you say you do, the thing that would make me happier than anything is if you would come with me. So I’m asking you – if you feel the things you say you feel – then do it. Be with me. Give me the end I’m hoping for.

I CAN’T. Huhuhu. 😦 This is so heartbreaking yet I find it fair enough for someone who lost everything that once have everything in his life. People take every challenges differently and I learned (somehow) Will’s reason for ending his life. But though it ends that way, I hope that you find a “sense of life and what it means to live” in this movie as much as I do.

Just live well. Just live.

Leave a Reply

