Life of a StuWork

I was just 18 years old when I got my first job as a crew of Mc Donald’s. Yes I am! So I exactly know the feeling cooking the yummiest fries on Earth while thinking ano-kaya-kung-kainin-ko-lahat-to-tas-magreresign-ako-bukas. Hahaha. I just love my work during that time. I was even awarded as Rookie of the Month because I’m super bida-bida! I remember working for 15 hours straight! Ang hirap kumita ng pera. Anyway. I went on AWOL (wag gayahin), personal issues? End of story.

So after a year, when I was kicked out from my first University and I no longer had a choice but to transfer in a private University, it leads me to try my luck working in a BPO Industry to sustain my and our needs.

BPO, long for Business Process Outsourcing, is the contracting of a specific business task to a third-party service provider. In layman’s term, CALL CENTER. 

I remember having that shaky voice during my Final Interview. Yung type kasi ng final interview sa gantong industry depends on what account you’ll be put into. Well sakin, bank account, so you’ll pretend like you’re a long time agent sa isang banko. They’ll provide you with some papers to review and then in minutes you’ll be place in a room with a telephone. You need to focus in that short period of time cause you need to at least answer the questions you’ll be hearing on the phone. Imagine answering it like how a Customer Service of BDO/BPI/METROBANK does!? Fudge.

Luckily I was one of the 3 people who passed the interview for that account. Then I had my job signing at almost 1AM in the evening, I went home late but with great hope, happiness and fulfillment.

Asikaso ng papers then medical chuchu ang next step. After a week, salang na sa training. Unfortunately, after 2 months of training, I did not pass. All of my batchmates including my trainer and managers were so shock at very nanghihinayang. Syempre I was one of the bida bida that time (pinakabata kasi tas call center virgin) tas babagsak sa final wave.

And then I thought that BPO was never for me, but another luck came cause I received a phone call from the same company telling me to have my papers ready again cause they’ll be transferring me to another account. And tada!! I’m in. Still alive and kicking staying for more than a year! 😀

Some of you might ask me why? Bakit nga ba?

Well aside from the fact that money was never easy for us, it’s one of my dreams. Yea, I dreamed of being a working student when I was a child. I really admire those people who managed to work and study at the same time. One thing also is that I’m a very very independent person. I don’t like asking for money that much and I like having things on my own.

Nakakaproud at the same time nakakapagod ang feeling. Yung tipong iiyak ka na lang kasi gusto mong matulog pero di pwede? I’ll tell you, you’ll get to meet that angel-like and demon-like people all over the world over the phone.

And isa pa, iba ang worklife kapag pamilya na turing mo sa katrabaho mo. Work never felt like working anymore when you get to find happiness and comfort in it. Masaya lang. May kasama ka sa pagod at reklamo. Sabi nga nila, #WhenWorkBecomesFamily. That I guess is the main reason why I’m still alive, I have a family wherever I go.

So, whenever you feel like being like us, work not just because you need it but because you’re happy doing it and at the end of the day, you’ll find yourself having that worth-it-feeling. I’ll leave you with a note from Great Confucius:

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” 

❤️

Leave a Reply

